Skip to content

New colorectal cancer screening PSA starring Meryl Streep

by on March 13, 2013
Via Flickr user dbking

Via Flickr user dbking

We recently told you about today’s Katie! show and its focus on cancer. If you’ll permit me to deviate from the ovarian cancer focus for just a moment, I have something to share with you from that episode regarding another type of cancer.

March is National Colorectal Cancer Awareness Month in the U.S. According to the Huffington Post, Meryl Streep has done a PSA about screening for colorectal cancer awareness, and the full PSA will premiere on today’s show. A sneak peek of the PSA is already available, and I wanted to share it with you today.

Although I blog about ovarian cancer, colorectal cancer has had a significant impact on my life. I lost my mother to that disease almost seven years ago, so I really wanted to share this new PSA with you. Getting screened for colorectal cancer is extremely important – as with any cancer, early detection makes a huge difference in survival rates. My mother had her first routine colonoscopy at age 50 – unfortunately, her cancer was already at a very advanced stage. Huffington Post notes that colorectal cancer is the second leading cause of cancer deaths in the U.S. for men and women. Early detection could help reduce that number and improve survival rates.

Thanks for letting me deviate from our usual topic for a few minutes, and please take a moment to check out Meryl’s PSA below.

-A.J.

From → education

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

