Skip to content

Share your story for Ovarian Cancer Awareness Month

by on August 7, 2012

We realize things have been a bit slow over here lately. We’ll just blame the sweltering heat and summer vacations. However, we’re gearing up for some big things in September, which just so happens to be Ovarian Cancer Awareness Month in the United States.

Have you been affected by ovarian cancer? If so, we would love to hear from you. In honor of Ovarian Cancer Awareness Month, we’re hoping to do a series of posts in September about survivors and others affected by this disease. If you’d be willing to tell your story or offer words of encouragement, we’d love to share it on the blog. There’s no preferred format in mind. If you would like to send us a narrative, we’ll post it from you as a guest blogger. If you would prefer to be interviewed by Marcy or me, we will send some questions your way. If you just want to send in a quick blurb or note, we’ll share those as well. Basically, anything goes!

If you’re interested in participating, please leave a comment below telling us how to get in touch with you, or email us at whisperingcrowns (at) gmail (dot) com. We look forward to hearing from you.

-A.J.

From → Events

2 Comments
  1. Mary Dubick permalink

    I am a 42 year old mother of three, sister to two. I have stage 3 ovarian cancer. My story started over a year ago when I went to my GP March of 2011 with close to 30 lbs of weight gain. I went from my normal size 4/5 up to a 10. I was also having bladder issues. We did blood tests thyroid tests. He said I should be happy at my weight and I’m healthy. That the bladder issues happen after three kids. I spent another whole year dieting and trying everything until I had no control of my bladder. I went to another dr and asked for an ultrasound on my bladder
    Then a ct scan later. I was operated on April 12,2012 stage 3 b the put an ip port into my timer and I qualified for a vaccine study thanks to my Dr. I am in my fourth round of chemo. My last round is September 25 and I am counting down until I can shout about the warning signs of this horrific cancer and not be made to feel its in our head. I have to live I have 3 wonderful reasons to fight I don’t want to leave my babies motherless. I also don’t want any other moms friends sisters to have to go through this cancer we have to fight for a voice.

    • Mary, I’m so sorry to hear that you were made to feel that way… it’s so unfortunate that the symptoms can so easily be written off as something else. I’m glad to hear that your last round of chemo is around the corner – we here at the Whispering Crowns blog will be pulling for you!

Leave a Reply

