Skip to content

Breaking the silence on ovarian cancer

by on May 15, 2012

On Saturday, I participated in the 10th Annual 5K/1Mile Run/Walk to Break the Silence on Ovarian Cancer hosted by the Northern Virginia chapter of the National Ovarian Cancer Coalition.

I was unable to actually run (due to a recently sprained ankle), but I donned my event t-shirt and showed up to cheer on the other members of Team Whispering Crowns. While they were running, I met a woman whose daughter is a three-year survivor – her family had flown in from all over the country to participate in the event. It was an inspiring morning – so much teal everywhere. After the race ended, there were some additional fun events.  Kudos to the organizers!

I wanted to share a few photos I took on Saturday.  For the full set, click here.

-A.J.

Event banner

Survivors before the race

The race begins

From → Events

5 Comments
  1. Michelle permalink

    I had such a great time supporting a wonderful cause. Thanks for coordinating!

    • wantmorepuppies permalink

      And thank you for joining the team! 🙂

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Why I’m returning to K9 Kamp | I Still Want More Puppies
  2. Breaking the silence (and a record or two) « Sisterhood of the Whispering Crowns
  3. Awesome news from the NOCC Northern Virginia chapter! « Sisterhood of the Whispering Crowns

Leave a Reply

