Skip to content

Teal Tidbits: Focus on Gilda Radner

by on April 27, 2012

I know that it’s starting to seem like I’m a little celebrity obsessed but really I’m just a dork….

After learning a few weeks ago that Gilda Radner died of ovarian cancer, my family and I spent the day in LA and I happened upon this:

DSC 0544

Her star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame.  I swear I didn’t go looking for it.  Honest.  Of course, I had to take a picture.  I mentioned that I was a dork, right?

Gilda Radner is known for being a great comedienne during the heyday of Saturday Night Live.  Here’s a fun clip for your enjoyment:

<

She was diagnosed with ovarian cancer (after 10 months of false diagnosis) in October 1986 and succumbed on May 20, 1989 after a brief period of remission during which she wrote It’s Always Something.

Her husband, Gene Wilder, started Gilda’s Club as a meeting place for people and their friends and family members dealing with cancer to provide social and emotional support.  In 2009 Gilda’s Club Worldwide and The Wellness Community merged to create The Cancer Support Community.  There are Gilda’s Clubs and CSC affiliates in most major cities.

I will leave you with a quotation from Ms. Radner….

“I wanted a perfect ending. Now I’ve learned, the hard way, that some poems don’t rhyme, and some stories don’t have a clear beginning, middle, and end. Life is about not knowing, having to change, taking the moment and making the best of it, without knowing what’s going to happen next.
Delicious Ambiguity.”

– Marcy

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

